Merlot Mudpies

Can a blog be about gardening, cancer, family, food and life all at the same time? Oh good.

Garden Update June 17, 2008


I suppose I really should work on the gleeful giggles I emit while picking tomatoes, but I really just can’t help it. Just about everything out there makes me squeal with delight, but my tomatoes. Heavens. Really. I just can’t help myself. Today I picked nearly a pound of tomatoes — sun gold, bloody butcher, and husky. Here is my bounty:
Sun Gold Cherries

Tomato Harvest

I was delighted to find out that I have at least four baby watermelons growing now:
Tendersweet

And amazed at how bizarre and alien they look when they’re first born:
Hairy watermelon

My pumpkins, too are taking off and I’m scared they’re so early I won’t have any for Halloween:
Sugar Pumpkin

Lastly for today, my corn and second tomato patch. The corn is about 8 feet high at its highest, in my estimation as it towers over me and I’m about 6 ft tall:
Silver Queen

And my second tomato patch, filled with my little from-seed babies, all bearing fruit at this stage:
Sugar Plum, We Think

It really all boggles the mind.

 

Leave a comment