Merlot Mudpies

Can a blog be about gardening, cancer, family, food and life all at the same time? Oh good.

Taco Salad Dressing June 26, 2009


I was looking online for a good salad dressing to put on taco salad and I really couldn’t find anything that quite suited my tastes.  So I made one up and we really liked it.  I don’t measure much so what I’m writing down is extremely approximate.  I hope you like it!

Mary’s Taco Salad Dressing

3 good glugs of olive oil
Juice of 2 limes
Dashes (about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp) of each:
paprika
cumin
coriander
1 tsp chili powder
4 Tbsp medium salsa (we use Trader Joe’s regular salsa when I don’t have homemade on hand)
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 or 3 Tbsp white wine vinegar
salt and black pepper to taste
enough water to dilute the flavor if it’s too overwhelming

It was a good enough dressing that my husband said, “you should make notes on this one.”

I make a lot of things that I forget about later.  I’m so glad he knows me well enough to remind me of such things.

One note:  I really like sour cream but my hub does not.  If I had not had him to consider, I wouldn’t have hesitated to make this a creamy dressing with some sour cream or yogurt.  To accommodate both our tastes, I just added sour cream on the side with my salad and it was really fantastic both ways.  This should keep well too, since there’s enough lime and vinegar to help cure your other ingredients for a bit.  I’ve got my leftovers in the fridge but I don’t think it’ll last long enough for me to figure out its shelf life. 

Enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “Taco Salad Dressing”

  1. David Sommerville Says:

    I really like this dressing. One thing I though would be nice is, if you have fresh cilantro on hand, some of that diced up in it. I also added some red chili flakes. Overall great recipe. Being a big fan of sour cream I used about equal parts SC to Salsa and just a tiny bit of oil.

    • merlotmudpies Says:

      Ooooh the cilantro is a great idea! I used some in my salad but having it in the dressing makes it much more versatile. Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed it!


Leave a Reply

