Merlot Mudpies

Can a blog be about gardening, cancer, family, food and life all at the same time? Oh good.

Because it’s been so long… February 19, 2009

Filed under: garden,Gardening,ivey ranch,Organic Gardening,weeds — Mary @ 5:32 pm

I know you’ve been pining for some before and afters.  I KNOW you have!

Well, you have to watch the vid from yesterday to see B10 as I found it after 4 months of neglect.  Here it is after about two hours yesterday:

Here it is after a few hours today:

We sowed (is that right?  sowed?  it seems wrong…oh well.  so does seeded.) two kinds of beets, carrots, three kinds of lettuce and arugala today.  I was also delighted to find my mint, thyme, lemon thyme and oregano all flourishing in spite of my neglect when I fought through the nettles surrounding them today.  I was so delighted when I discovered them all waiting there that I greeted them out loud.  Oh well, there was no one there to hear me but them.

This weekend will be more meticulous clean-up and I’ll also have a go in C10, which is equally overgrown.  Thankfully, there seem to be fewer nettles in that plot.  They’re bigger, sturdier weeds (babies of the veritable weed trees i was pulling when i first got these plots last year), but the ground is soft from the rain, which helps.  So I’m jumping on them as quickly as I can before the sun bakes them any more.

If I tried to write about how pleased I am right now, I’d just write gibberish.  But my heart feels lighter than it has in months.

 

2 Responses to “Because it’s been so long…”

  1. bre Says:

    Whahoo! Glad to see you are back at it & blogging about it! We don’t start up here until May but some seeds have been started (peppers) and soon tomatoes will by put in little soil pots! We all just attended Seedy Saturday in Toronto yesterday – so officially we’re all chomping at the bits now.

  2. merlotmudpies Says:

    Hi Bre — thanks so much for the warm welcome back into the blogosphere! I need to get used to posting again. It’s strange how you really have to make a habit of writing down your thoughts or you just don’t do it very often or very well.


Leave a Reply

