Merlot Mudpies

Can a blog be about gardening, cancer, family, food and life all at the same time? Oh good.

The Zucchini Naming Contest July 8, 2008


All right, friends. A zucchini this size deserves a name. But I am too fried to come up with one right now. And so I leave it to you to come up with a name for what is, currently, known as “The Whale” of those of us in Ivey Ranch who grow zucchini. It was so big I yelled when Joce showed it to me while she was watering for me as I pulled some weeds.

I give you The Whale, AKA Zucchzilla, AKA “HOLY COW WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT THING??”
Giant Zucchini

Entries will be considered with considerable bias by me and possibly my sisters-in-law because DANG are they funny…but if they make suggestions then clearly it’s just me deciding on the winner. And we all know I’m succeptible to bribes. A prize will be given. I’ll even promise a GOOD prize. But I have no idea what form that will take at the moment.

Comments with suggestions, por favor!

 

4 Responses to “The Zucchini Naming Contest”

  1. Rachel Says:

    how about “Zuch envy” get it?

  2. Teri Says:

    I think it looks like “Zuke Nukem”

  3. merlotmudpies Says:

    Both of these are crackin’ me up…and Zuke Nukem is RIGHT along the lines of what I was thinking, Teri. Leave it to you to hit the nail on the head.

    Also, Shannon nominated him (I guess it’s a boy, now, though this flies in the face of obvious botanical facts) as “George” over on Flickr.

    Keep ’em coming!

  4. Brooke Says:

    I hate to go with the crass and obvious but John Holmes was the first thing that sprang to mind!


Leave a Reply

