Merlot Mudpies

Can a blog be about gardening, cancer, family, food and life all at the same time? Oh good.

The Best Made Plans are Laid to Toddlers May 29, 2008


It’s amazing how quickly a two-year-old can knock you off your high horse.

“Of the three things we are eating tonight, Ryan, only the turkey sausage is store bought!” I crowed to my husband tonight before dinner. “The bread is homemade, the squash is from our garden and I gave that much again to Teri. And tomorrow we’re having purslane salad again! I love that I can feed you guys so healthily.” I was really, really proud of myself. So proud, in fact, that I had pondered taking pictures of our plates and of Eamonn relishing every bite of his home-grown meal.

Only, about that…

Grandma sent a box of goodies to us that arrived today. She is the queen of care packages, my mother-in-law. In that package was candy and Eamonn knew it.

In the end the only way I got the kid to literally choke down a single bite of squash was to convince him that he had to try at least one bite before he got some of that candy. We did this by allowing Daddy a piece in front of Eamonn after he finished his own squash.

So instead of a picture of my son loving every bit of his garden harvest, I give you:
Candy!

Yes, when I took it he was crowing, “Canneeeeeee!”

Ah well.

 

3 Responses to “The Best Made Plans are Laid to Toddlers”

  1. why don’t you try beating him?

  2. merlotmudpies Says:

    i mentioned candy was in the equation, right? i could have hung that kid by his toe nails and he would have been asking for candy still. 🙂 see why i moderate you?

  3. […] kids, Organic Gardening, parenting, recipes, soup, too much zucchini, zucchini Making up for the candy debacle, my son downed soup with zucchini in it last night. In fact, after taking a few tentative bites, he […]


Leave a Reply

