Merlot Mudpies

Can a blog be about gardening, cancer, family, food and life all at the same time? Oh good.

In the absence of a real post… May 22, 2008


I give you my son, watering the corn which is taller than he is:

Here is what dinner was made out of for the most part:

And a recipe for drop cake, which is how I used my small harvest of blackberries, which were too tart for plain eating — it’s so easy that it’s hard to even write a real recipe for it but here goes:

I took 14 berries and some peaches I bought frozen…sometime once…and I mixed them up with some brown sugar. (You could use brown sugar, honey, regular sugar, etc…whatever.) I added some cinnamon. (You could also use nutmeg, allspice, etc depending on what fruit(s) you are using). I opened a box of yellow cake mix and sprinkled it onto the top of the fruit until I had an even layer about as thick as I wanted the crust to be. I sprinkled oatmeal on top of that. I cut a little bit of butter into pieces and evenly spaced those on top of everything. I put this all in an oven at 350 degrees until it was brown on top and bubbling. I ate it.

Okay, I shared. But I wanted to eat all of it. I really did. It’s this amazing salt/sweet/sour/fruity combination that’s hard to get with any other kind of crust but this one. Mmm. It’s a drop cake because you literally toss it all together in whatever size/shape dish you’re going to bake it in.

Here is how it turned out:

And I guess that’s another nice thing about this recipe. You can make it just for yourself or for a whole crowd.

I am very excited to have had a veggie AND dessert come from our garden today.

More to come.

 

Leave a Reply

