Merlot Mudpies

Can a blog be about gardening, cancer, family, food and life all at the same time? Oh good.

This is Just a Quickie to Say… May 3, 2008


A mouse ate my okra. Stupid mouse.

I have blossoms on my sugarplums now. I’m telling you: miracle tomatoes.

My first husky tomato is turning red and we’re going to get to eat it soon.

I made caprese salad with basil from my garden and fed it to my dad and Ryan and Lola Friday night. It was GOOD.

My massacred strawberry plants are blooming! Can you believe it? And I had some of Mr. Master Strawberries crop, which he sweetly picked for Eamonn. Honestly, neither Ryan or I can think of a time we last had such amazing strawberries. And Eamonn, who didn’t like strawberries, now asks for them multiple times a day. Grow strawberries, grow!!

My potatoes are growing like crazy and I’m tempted to dig around and see if I can harvest any new potatoes for us to eat. Someone tell me not to! Tell me to be patient! Please!

I have more zucchini and yellow squash babies starting to bloom than I ever thought possible. Boy am I the butt end of that cliched joke! Good thing they can and pickle and make soup and saute and stuff and….and…and…

I planted four watermelon vines today. And have 8 more to put in. It’s good I’m not allergic anymore and can eat half a watermelon at a sitting (I am making up for lost time, people. Don’t judge me. No, don’t!).

Gardening makes me want to worship. It makes me go weak in the knees sometimes when I try to take the wonder of it all in — not just the harvest but just…how it all WORKS. It’s amazing. Amazing!

I am so thankful.

 

3 Responses to “This is Just a Quickie to Say…”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I would like to volunteer to take any zucchini or squash you can’t consume off your hands. I’ve read how plentiful they are and how , in farming communities, you can’t give them away for trying. haha So I am looking forward to it. Aiden calls them “yellow fries,” when I cut them up like, well, like fries.

    ā¤ lobe

  2. sunnierdays Says:

    Who is this Lola you speak of?
    Also, how are you no longer allergic to watermelons? so confused.

  3. Mel Says:

    Just doing as you asked:
    BE PATIENT MARY! P-A-T-I-E-N-T!
    You know what they say… good things come to those who wait!
    šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

