Merlot Mudpies

Can a blog be about gardening, cancer, family, food and life all at the same time? Oh good.

You Win Some, You Lose Some April 29, 2008


We’ve had several days of 90+ weather here in SoCal and I hadn’t been to Ivey Ranch in two days. I was scared of what I’d find when I got there. What I found, however, is a garden that for the most part is thrilled with all this sun. I have peppers, tomatoes, squash and potatoes thriving and all sorts of other things going on that thrill me to the core.

Eamonn was his sweet normal self, making friends with Bo and Casey who have been flirting with him for ages now — I think they know little boys usually drop a lot of food. E is no exception and soon they’ll be lapping up goldfish and popcorn galore, I’m sure. Their owner, Len, let E help him water and play with the dogs while I snapped photos in my plots. Eamonn was in heaven.

Eamonn, Bo and Casey hang out in the garden.

Eamonn waters with Len.

I lost an okra plant and most of a sugarsnap pea as well as cilantro and parsley to the rodents. I need to do something about that. But it’s hard to be too upset when I was left with so much other bounty.

I have a lot of things I want to say but they haven’t taken shape yet. So I’ll share a few shots of things that made both my heart and my eyes well at their beauty today. Flickr on the sidebar gives you a link to the rest if you’re interested:

Hidden away beneath foilage, blooms begin.

Lavender blooming.

A marigold after a drink.

My red bell pepper plant.

 

One Response to “You Win Some, You Lose Some”

  1. Kate Says:

    These photos are worth millions! I’m so glad everyone is thriving.


Leave a Reply

